top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiya Jones

I'm Calling It Me (Poem)

Updated: Nov 18, 2019

By Dearest Price

Twitter: @PriceDearest

Instagram: @dearestyprice

Facebook: Dearest Price

I'm Calling It Me (Poem)

Yahweh, Elohim, puts a smile on my face. Jehovah and Om, signs that can't be erased. Gayatri and Guru, all names of divine. Mohammad, Adonai, the Name sounds like mine. If God is a spirit, why do we call it "He," to give it more power and boost masculinity.


To justify oppression, to keep building walls, to silence the female, as sperm travels down her halls, to dim light of creation, to make her feel cursed but contradicting our Savior, whose death can't be rehearsed.


No, it isn't a "He" that brings water to life. It isn't a "He" that delivers us from strife. It isn't a "He" each day rising the Sun. It won't be a "He" when the fight is almost done. I'm calling it "Me," as I live a good life. I'm calling it "Me" as I serve as a wife. I'm calling it "Me" as I pick up my seed. I'm calling it me, as I pray for our needs.


This is not removing my worship, nor delineating my praise. Christ still is my Savior as my hands I will raise, but God is a spirit, which can't be denied and the power of its Glory is inside where it lies. So stop telling your daughters that it is a "He," because truth is a spirit that dwells deep inside of me. Amen.




About Dearest Price

I'm Calling It Me (Poem)

Dearest Price grew up in Long Island, New York, North Babylon to be exact. She followed her passion for teaching, attending Howard University and later earning a history and africana studies degree from Stony Brook University. She went on to receive a Masters of Education from Arcadia University. Teaching for over 20 years in several inner-city public schools, including Philadelphia, Camden and Baltimore, she gained a reputation for her uniqueness. She wasn't afraid to advocate for her children and social injustice. Walking her students home from school or helping parents with grocery shopping was commonplace and made her influential in the communities she served. Some of her accomplishments include being awarded Teacher of the Year in Camden, New Jersey, being honored for her teaching abilities by a State Senator, Founder of The Chainbreakers Project Inc., distinguished author of such works as "Disguised As God", CEO of Agape Voice Publishing LLC, co-Owner of Black Line News, preacher at New Hope A.M.E. Zion Church, but most importantly, the mother of two dynamic children, Sun and Justice.

0 comments
bottom of page