top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiya Jones

What Pure Coconut and Olive Oil Did For My Hair

Updated: Nov 19, 2019

Instagram: @miyajones1996

Facebook: Miya Jones

What Pure Coconut and Olive Oil Did For My Hair

Ever since I could remember, I've dealt with a dry scalp. It's a struggle, and I know I'm not the only one who fights this fight. Recently, I was put on to a life-changing treatment thanks to my aunt, and it didn't even require a run to the beauty supply store.


The secret sauce is simply pure coconut and olive oil.


Both oils are natural, multi-purpose products that'll make your scalp want to sing. The vitamins and fatty acids in coconut oil, nourish the scalp and helps with hair growth. It also prevents split ends. The same can be said for olive oil too, so when you combine the two, there's no stopping your hair from living its best life.


The treatment was a little messy I admit. But, it's easy and gave me great results:


1) Make your mixture


What Pure Coconut and Olive Oil Did For My Hair

First, get 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/4 cup of coconut oil. Mix them together and nuke them in the microwave for about 10 seconds. Both oils need to be pure. I used olive oil straight from the kitchen. Yes, it was the same oil we use on a pan when cooking (my mom wasn't to thrilled about that). I also used (or my father would say took his) pure coconut oil, which can also be used to moisturize your skin. So when the oil runs down your scalp, you can use it on your skin.



2) Wash your hair as usual

What Pure Coconut and Olive Oil Did For My Hair
📸: jascmeen

Use whatever product you use to wash and condition your hair. You can also take some of the oil mixture and use it with your conditioner.



3) Put the mixture in your hair overnight

What Pure Coconut and Olive Oil Did For My Hair
📸: Amazon

This is where a towel over your shoulder is a must! Section your hair off and apply the mixture to your scalp and hair. I did two-strand twists after applying it. Once you finish, take a shower cap to the head, lay down a towel on your pillow and let it sit overnight. I definitely recommend doing this at night so you don't have to deal with the crinkling of a shower cap and oil sliding down your face the whole day.



4) Rinse out and apply your products

What Pure Coconut and Olive Oil Did For My Hair
📸: iStock

The next morning, wake up, rinse your hair out completely and then marvel at the results. You can also put in whatever styling product you want after rinsing out your hair. I use Kinky Curly personally because I love the smell and it keeps my hair from shrinking.


Trust me when I say, I haven't even had to put any oil or moisturizer in my scalp for at least two days. More importantly, there's NO flaking. So go ahead and indulge in the magic of these natural products.

0 comments
bottom of page